The last 43 years had been a remarkable four decades of recognizing deserving students of the secondary schools in zamboanga city with the honor as golden crescent achievement awardees.

The golden crescent consortium of peace builders and affiliates (gccpba), affiliated with the interreligious solidarity for peace as muslim convener group, conferred the following honors to outstanding student leaders and class valedictorian during their various schools’ commencement exercises.

The honor includes the golden crescent achievement award for academic excellence, golden crescent achievement awards for leadership and golden crescent achievement award for leadership (founders’ choice). The search for awardees was in partnership with the secondary schools division of zamboanga city-department of education and ahlul bayt philippine islamic assembly.

Deped peace education coordinator dr. Maybelle bautista-tee along with resident members of the gccpba to include prof. Ali t. Yacub, al-haj (president and founder), hji. Abdu rahim k. Kenoh (former schools division superintendent), aldrin bucoy-abdurahim (secretary- general), aljihan edding (pio), jaafar kimpa (president, amores), alrashid jama (chairperson, cbcs- samboangan), josephine bello-sanchez (former department of labor and employment representative), sheikh denil anawari (president, bapia) composed the 2013 screening panel members.

After the interview and deliberation, the following were recognized as 2013 awardees to include the following: for golden crescent achievement award for academic excellence- ms. Aminshani lukman and ms. Cherry claire insang (zchs-main), ms. Fatima marfa nagdar and mr. Myler ybarley (znhs-west), ms. Ma. Cielo carpio (dplmhs), mr. Rey ralph virtucio and ms. Shai requiso (ayala national high school), mr. Alrajhi otoalih (talisayan national high school), jasmine a. Sandag (southern city colleges- high school), nuraisa maularin (lubigan national high school), rhealiza rhadzhafatni hamin (zion evangelical school), joysee threeneedad longakit (manichan national high school), pilar camille quirosa (southcom national high school), alfaro (zamboanga state college of marine sciences and technology-laboratory high school), maida piscalin(baluno national high school), nino rigo emil lim (regional science high school) and hazel gutiano (maria clara l. Lobregat national high school).

Five students were conferred the golden crescent achievement award for leadership (founders choice) to include the following: shareena haudini (usa- zchs- main), al-rajhi sappari (usa- zns-west), analun dulla (usa-zchs-west), joselle mariz cultura (china-znhs-west) and myler ybarley (china- znhs-west).

Moreover, the prestigious golden crescent achievement award for leadership was conferred to the following deserving students namely: john gualbert caces and ms. Bethle may zozobrado (zion evangelical school), randy napalcruz (mcllnhs), vanesa joy valdez (znhs-west), mc jefferson deang and kraig louie tampon (zchs-main), giamay salarda and eva may largo (dplmhs), shelina haris (southcom nhs), norhaina musad (baluno nhs), crissa nicole alonso (regional science hs), cindy ela felix and judy ann mendoza (manichan nhs), angelica marie melburnn (southern city colleges hs), desza edding (wmsu-ils), mussana abdula and jomari hamsaji (lubigan nhs), marielle fajardo, sherwin soriano and jenelyn quintas (talisayan nhs) and alliana mae macapili, densteve empuesto and manilyn de gusman (ayala nhs).

The interreligious group congratulates the awardees and participating schools. Indeed, leadership in not on the words they say but the actions they do. (aldrin abdurahim)

The success of the screening was made possible because of the generous hearts and active participation of the members of the gccpba and deped.

The founder, prof. Ali t. Yacub, al-hj is deeply honoured of the increase of awardees and its expansion to deserving schools in the city. He never had dreamed of such expansion but is very honoured of the legacy he confers to admirable student leaders of our country.

Recent Comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.