29 Graduating Senior High and College Students are Young Peace Weavers 2018

In their non-stop pursuit to mold peace champions in this city, Peace Advocates Zamboanga (PAZ) and the Interreligious Solidarity for Peace (ISP) conferred the Young Peace Weavers Award to 18 deserving graduating senior high school students and 11 graduating tertiary students for this school year, all of whom have made significant contributions to peace in their respective schools and communities.


For 17 years now the Young Peace Weavers Award is given annually by PAZ and ISP to the peace-conscious students in high school and college in both public and private schools.


After had been endorsed by their respective schools, the nominees had undergone the selection process with the screening committee whose members are from ISP and PAZ. The major criterion is the active participation of the nominees in efforts in peace building and instilling an awareness of the process towards the culture of peace as against the culture of violence in their schools and communities.


The 18 awardees from the senior high school are: Amina Shayne Halil (Regional Science High School); Aurelli Maria Bettina Lim (Pilar College); Alvin Rey Riclade (Southern City Colleges); Ardis Asta (Talon-Talon National High School); Maid Jammang (Arena Blanco National High School); Marvin Abdul (STI College Zamboanga); Shaira Mae Napii (Claret School of Zamboanga City); Abdul Nasser Alimoda (Filipino Turkish Tolerance School); Zyra Jazmine Jimenez (Ayala National High School); Jhonel Sumeguin (ECC-Baluno National High School); Jimboy Sabuclacao (Ramon Enriquez Memorial School); Kristine Anne Nicole Pantaleon (Culianan National High School); Alhamdi Aspalal (Tuan Datu Hadji Abdullah Nuño Integrated School); Erika Jenn Quisil (Maria Clara Lorenzo Lobregat National High School); Sean Jay Panglilingan (Tictapul National High School); Khevin Alvarado (Vitali National High School); Inshira Hussin (Tagasilay National High School) and Chabelita Benito (Bunguiao National High School)


While, the 11 awardees from the tertiary level are: Airon Canizares (Western Mindanao State University); Carlo Alejandro (Western Mindanao State University); Sitti Shaira Dompol (Western Mindanao State University); Mervin Cabato (Western Mindanao State University); Vea Mae Guzman (Western Mindanao State University); Aissah Anudin (Western Mindanao State University); Mary Angel Aghon (Winzelle International College); Jordan Lascota (Ateneo de Zamboanga University); Ruth Bermejo (Zamboanga State College of Marine Sciences and Technology); Hazel Delos Santos (Zamboanga City State Polytechnic College) and Raffy Laliyah (Zamboanga City State Polytechnic College).


The bestowal of the prestigious Award will be done either during the recognition or graduation rite of the awardees. (Albert F. Arcilla/Peace Advocates Zamboanga)

Recent Comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.